SASS Wire Forum

Need advice cowboy reloads

Bull Creek Cole

I have some .451" 200gr lead RNFP i bought to reload 45 acp and was wondering if they would be O.K. to reload in my Ruger NMV Bisley. I am new to cowboy reloading and have only reloaded lead .452" in the past. I don't want to load any more 200gr for my Colt 1911 because they have a different point of impact than the 230gr.

Any comments and advice is appreciated.

Bull Creek Cole

I think they will just slide down the barrel instead of engaging the rifleing .Also,they may flame cut and lead up the barrel. I would not try it.

Howdy

The simple answer is yes.

The complicated answer is it all depends on the diameter of your chamber throats. The front, narrow portion of your chambers. Believe it or not, they can vary. The simplest test you can do is to remove the cylinder from the pistol and point it at the ground. Drop one of the bullets into a chamber. Does it get stuck? Does it fall right through?

If it falls right through it is probably to small. Shooting undersized bullets will certainly work, but undersized bullets allow some of the combustion gasses from the burning gunpowder to escape around the sides of the bullet. This tends to soften the lead which can in turn lead to leading. Sheesh. In other words the softened lead melts enough that it gets 'soldered' to the chamber throat and/or the bore of the barrel. Leading like this should be avoided as it is difficult to remove and can allow moisture to be trapped underneath, which can lead to corrosion.

Does it get stuck? Ideally, a bullet that is a good diameter for the chamber throat will just barely hang up in the chamber throat. Moderate pressure with a pen or stick should be all that is required to shove it through the chamber throat. That is ideal. Then you have a good bullet to chamber throat fit and leading will be at a minimum.