Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum

Branchwater Jack SASS #88854

RO Instructor
  • Content Count

    4,457
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Branchwater Jack SASS #88854 last won the day on October 27 2019

Branchwater Jack SASS #88854 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

654 Excellent

About Branchwater Jack SASS #88854

  • Rank
    SASS Wire Vet
  • Birthday 09/06/1977

Previous Fields

  • SASS #
    88854
  • SASS Affiliated Club
    Wartrace Regulators, North Alabama Regulators

Contact Methods

  • Website URL
    http://wartraceregulators.com
  • ICQ
    0

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Huntsville, AL

Recent Profile Visitors

5,754 profile views
  1. If a internal hammered shotgun was opened, then closed, with nothing else done, the hammers would still be cocked. 2 steps with a closed, cocked SG at any time on the firing line is a SDQ SHB PG 23 If you pulled the triggers and dropped the hammers down on the empty chambers, NC.
  2. I read right past that....I somehow read to...Long day... No Call on both counts. SHB pg 45
  3. Once you take your second step from the stage to the ULT with a closed, cock long gun, you earn a SDQ. If you have an external hammered shotgun, and both hammers are down, no call. SHB pg 16 If the SG was the last gun fired, you could even go from the stage to the ULT with hammers down on spent cartridges and not receive a penalty as long as the cartridges were cleared before setting the gun on the ULT. SHB pg 18
  4. A lot of us pointed just what you said out before the vote was ever made. But, I'll reiterate what I asked before...following the same course of logic you just stated...Why is it OK to move from the LT to the stage with a cocked, loaded rifle with the action closed, but it is a SDQ for moving from the stage to the ULT with an cocked, empty rifle with the action closed?
  5. Keep shooting a while. You would be surprised at what you see folks do. Had the experience of shooting with someone who loaded the SG at the LT just this past year. I know, right? It was a first for me, too. This ambiguity and double standard is what a lot of us were bringing up even before the vote was taken. It was also one of the reasons why some TGs voted against the proposal. If we add on to Rick's point...Why is it OK to move from the LT to the stage with a cocked, loaded rifle with the action closed, but it is a SDQ for moving from the stage to the ULT with an cocked, empty rifle with the action closed? Because that is what the rule says...
  6. See also @PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495Lchiming in to confirm what I said above:
  7. No. the rule only applied to the rifle. Moving from the LT to the firing line with a cocked shotgun with the action closed is a SDQ. More specifically, the SDQ kicks in when they take their second step. SHB PG 23 It was not changed because the TGs did not vote to change it. As this is a rule change, it requires a vote of the TGs. Bring it up with your TG and maybe they can get it changed. Who knows....It may be one of the topics discussed at the TG meeting at Winter Range. I can't think of much else that they might want to discuss...
  8. The pocket pistol rules that you quoted are for the pocket pistol side match. Not main match. SHB pg 31 You can shoot BP pistols with 7 1/2 inch barrels in the main match if you want to. SHB pg 14
  9. If I saw the 45 come out on the other end, that would work for me... I wonder if carrying a 45-70 round filled with shot and a big bullet on top would do the job a bit better.
  10. The SE Regional, last year, adopted a much similar convention. They called it standing 'at shooter's discretion.'
  11. I know it is going to extremes, but if shots 7, 8, 9, or 10 didn't HIT either a buffalo or a rifle plate, they must be scored as a MISS. The instructions did not provide a shooter the opportunity to make up a MISS on any of the last four shots. In this case, however, shots 7-10 all HIT the appropriate type of target using the appropriate type of firearm. SHB pg 22
  12. You're getting a bit ahead of me, but we'll get there. Let us start back at the two questions you answered: Did the 7th round hit the correct type target, i.e. rifle target with legally acquired ammo? YES Did the 7th round hit the correct target that the round should have hit given the stage instructions? No That 7th round could go a lot of places. Let us examine them for a minute. That 7th round could have HIT the buffalo. That is scored as a HIT. That 7th round could have just barely MISS the buffalo, going right over the top of it. That is scored as a MISS. That 7th round could have HIT a pistol target. That is scored as a MISS. That 7th round could have just barely MISS the plate on the rack, going just to the left of that cowboy plate. That is scored as a MISS. That 7th round could have HIT the physical plate rack, not hitting any plates. that is scored as a MISS. But that 7th round HIT the rifle plate. As the 7th round should have hit a buffalo, they earned a PROCEDURAL. Now, the stage writer originally claimed that the 7th round was scored as a MISS as it did not HIT a buffalo. That was in error: He has since recanted: So, we are on the same page: At the time the 7th round HIT the rifle plate, the shooter earned a PROCEDURAL. They still have three rounds left to fire, the first of which may hit either of the buffalo targets. And, we still have to figure out what to do with the plate that was HIT with the 7th round. Now, back to your statement: Am I understanding you correctly when you say that a shooter has no opportunity to engage a downed target?
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.