SASS Wire Forum

AR scope recommendations (long range)?

So Sassparilla Kid got his barrel, and the remaining parts (free-float tube, rifle length stock, brake, and miscellaneous) should be delivered this week for his AR build.

His first... and he put a great deal of thought into the project, wanting a long range rifle; it has a 24" 6.5 Grendel barrel. Targets and far-away varmints should catch hell. ;)

And now for optics - any recommendations would be appreciated! :)

Sounds like a very nice build. I'm personally very happy with a Nikon 4-16 Nikoplex (sp.). There are a lot of scopes out there that are really good. A lot will depend or ranges, targets, and age of shooters eyes. Buy the best you can possibly afford. Glass is not something to scrimp on.

Nightforce if money is no option, Super Sniper if budget is a concern. I've had both and they're great, at either ends of the cost spectrum.

Since I have been hosting US and NATO sniper teams here for over 10 years (the Canadians just left after 2 weeks on the way to Yemen), I see every quality scope money can buy, Nightforce, S&B, Leupold, US Optics, Swaro, Zeis, Vortex, and the most surprising and absolutely GREAT, the Bushnell Elite Tactical. (It is built in a different factory than all of the other Bushnell scopes) The Bushnell is absolutely amazing for the money. The ERS 6X24 can be had with a Horus 59 reticle. Many of them are currently being used by the teams downrange with NO problems. I have 3 myself. None of the previously listed scoopes except the Nighrforce is worth the extra money from my experience.