SASS Wire Forum

HELP! Bullet Casters Problem Sloved ! Thanks

Mad Dog McGee

Help !!!!!!! I've spent about 4 hours trying to cast a good bullet, All of them come out wrinkled . Got a Lee 4/20 and been running it on 6 ; however my Lyman thermometer reads 750. Is the problem with it being too hot? I read that its best at 600-650. Using wheel weights with some lino. This is my first time casting. The bullets are shiny, just wrinkled with lines in them.

Thanks in advance, MDM

Problem Solved!!! Thanks to you guys!! Heated up the furnace to 9.5 , heated the mold on top , Cast over 700 bullets, NICE, SHINY, No wrinkles!!!!!!!!!!! 4 hrs. setting up and learning curve ; 2 hrs casting. Now I are A bullet castor( Sort Of).

Thanks again to my PARDS to the rescue!!! This is another great thing about SASS , a forum that works!

Tomorrow I'll size, lube and load WITH THE REAL POWDER: BLACK POWDER!!!!!

FIRE and Lots of SMOKE!!!! YEE-HAW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Mad Dog McGee

Let your mold cool down. Clean it thoroughly with detergent & toothbrush. rinse thoroughly. Dry COMPLETELY.

Try again. You will probably need to warm the mold prior to casting.

Clean the mold with some rubbing alcohol and toothbrush to make sure any oil is off it.

With an aluminum Lee mold, you need it hot from the start. If you have an old hot plate, or a propane torch, warm that mold up.

I set my casting temp at 750 degrees (by thermometer), and go slightly higher to make sure all the wrinkles are gone, with wheelweight and tin alloy. Wrinkles are usually either oil in the mold, or cold metal or mold. Frosted heavily is too hot a mold or metal. You CANNOT successfully cast any reasonable bullet alloy at 650 degrees, in my experience. If you read that in a book or web site, ignore that source from now on.