SASS Wire Forum

rear sights

tumbleweed tess

I am new to the wire and was thinking about joining SASS. I picked up a 66 from Taylors The sights leave a lot to be desired . I was watching a SASS video and noticed that some shooters had what are called Tang sights instead of the open type. Why is that? is one style better than the other?

Thanks for any info

TT

Welcome Tess.

I myself use tang sights and prefer them to standard barrel mount sights on a rifle.

Lyman and Marbles are manufacturers that make tang sights for 1866 rifles.

Marbles offer a better mount system for left to right adjustment than the Lyman; but cost more as well.

Some prefer buckhorn sights.

If you can, the thing to do would be to try as many other peoples rifles as you can before you make a decision.

The tang sights will set you back the better part of $100.

They are a simple task to install them though.

I really like a "flat top" style rear sight. It's basically a semi buckhorn with the wings filed off. I think I got mine from Long Hunter. http://www.longhunt.com/gunparts/marbles.htm

+1

I started off with the semi-buckhorn but after a while I filed it down to a flat top. I like it much better. A good brass bead front sight, like Manatee's grabber sight helps also.

http://www.longhunt.com/gunparts/grabber.htm

+1

I started off with the semi-buckhorn but after a while I filed it down to a flat top. I like it much better. A good brass bead front sight, like Manatee's grabber sight helps also.

I am with you here. Have a Manatee big bead on the front and cut my rear sight down with a dremel tool to a flat top

+1

I just ordered two of the Marbles Flat Top Sights and am trying to determine which Grabber Sight to order. Is the larger one better or the thinner?

Lone Rider

I just ordered two of the Marbles Flat Top Sights and am trying to determine which Grabber Sight to order. Is the larger one better or the thinner?

Lone Rider