SASS Wire Forum

1851 Navy and 1858 New Army questions....

Guest Foothills Drifter

Guest Foothills Drifter

Hi to all. I've been a long time Sass Member but this is my first time posting in the wire.

I've shot Duelist and Gunfighter and switched about for a few years. However, I've always been a cartridge shooter using a pair of 44-40 Ruger Vaqueros.

Well, I've been thinking about possibly giving black powder a try. a fellow member let me try their 1851's a while back and I liked it.

So now for may main question. I noticed that they offer both the 1851 Navy and the 1858 New Army in the standard 7-1/2" barrels and they also offer them in a 5-1/2" barrel. From my understanding (correct me if I'm wrong) originally, Colt and Remington only offerd them in the 7-1/2" barrel lengths so that would make the newer 5-1/2" versions not historically correct. Are the 5-1/2" versions still sass legal for the class? I'm about to start looking over the rules again to see if I missed anything.

thanks in advance for the help.

Guest Foothills Drifter
Legal

thanks for the confirmation. I guess now the question is........... which ones and which lengths do I want........

Smaller size hands - 1851's

Larger hands - 1858's

Faster stage speeds - Ruger ROAs, fixed sight

Shorter barrels - faster out of holster and on target

Longer barrels - perhaps steadier for you

Try the guns you think you want! Everyone "feels" them differently. See which point well and come right into a master grip for you quickly.

If you choose either of the "original" designs, be ready with spare parts and capable of changing them out on short order. If you are not a tinkerer, perhaps better off with the ROAs.

Good luck, GJ

I have both ,,,, and I find that the 51s point better and are easyer to cock one handed or for that matter with both hands ....