SASS Wire Forum

We’ve gotten spoiled

Trigger Mike

I was watching the movie “Convoy”.  A crooked sheriff fines them on the side of the road and later with other officers tries to beat them up.  Further on he does beat up one of them.  These days cops do a lot less and get arrested and charged even if defending themselves.  

I recall even when I was an officer we still had some who carried a slapjack and used it.  If an officer was in a chase, some of the older officers would get ahead and shoot them as they went by or pull up beside them and shoot at them with a pistol or shotgun.  An old trooper climbed in the back seat and cold cocked a prisoner who robbed coin machines after a deputy shot his car with a shotgun to get him to stop.  

back when convoy was made interest rates were much higher than now and yet at 7.5 percent mortgage folks have a fit.  My first home loan was higher than that.  I thought I was doing good too.  These days folks cry because car loans are 8 percent .  All these years of near zero interest rates have made folks forget what normal rates feel like.  Folks beating and killing cops have set back police relations decades.  Folks have forgotten how brutal cops can be and used to be.  If the pendulum swings , how will people adjust?

Yep, just a movie but I recall folks all over got a CB radio and walkie talkie and thought they were truckers and asked for bear reports etc .  I recall back then cops were always shown as mean or incompetent and it took years to fix it to where cops were properly portrayed.  It took longer for citizens to respect them.