SASS Wire Forum

Advice on a possible Stoeger purchase

Captain Bill Burt

I've heard of Stoeger Condor O/U, but not SxS. It has a 20' barrel light wear on the blueing and a few scratches on the stock and I can get it for $225. It will likely end up as a back up, but for now I'm hurting for a shotgun to fill out my gear. Anyone heard of a Condor like that or has he misidentified it? Either way any thoughts on the deal?

Thanks,

Side by side Stoegers have been either "Coachgun" or an "Uplander" back as far as '89 when I bought my Uplander. AFAIN, the "Condor" has always been their O/U.

I'm no expert, but that's what I thought too. I think this guy just doesn't know what he has. The price is decent, but he's trying to get some of it back by charging $40 for shipping. So I'm on the fence on this one but based on his feedback (sometimes slow to ship and with attitude problems) leaning toward just buying one new and paying the extra $100.

leaning toward just buying one new and paying the extra $100.

Last time I was in Academy theyt were selling new Stoegers for $339. Your guy is 225, plus 40 shipping, plus whatever your FFL charges to receive it for you. I'd say you'll wind up around $300 used, might check and see what they go for locally.

http://www.academy.com/index.php?page=content&target=company/locator/map#Georgia

Don't forget the recent thread here that mentioned the Baikal's will soon be available again. Many prefer this one over the Stoeger. They should be in the same ballpark price wise.

I guess the jist of what I am saying is don't feel pressured to by something from someone just due to price. There are lots of deals to be had.

When in doubt, don't.

If the guy can't properly identify the gun and has bad feedback on performance, I wouldn't deal with him. I think you'd be ahead by buying from a local dealer or seeing what's available at a show.