SASS Wire Forum

Shooting the old guns - part two

Warden Callaway

59bac387c12db_Winchester7338WCFSept2017.jpg.5df28787188813f6beb555696d255cce.jpg59bac37704b80_Winchester7338WCFSept2017b.jpg.03e065fea0cce8a945512f424a3b41d8.jpg

We went on a tour of a couple of our favorite gunshops yesterday.   At the first one was this 1873 made in 1889 Winchester in 38WCF.  A little rough on the outside but looks to be complete and original.   The general operation seems to be in order.  The bore is dark but the rifling looks strong and sharp.  

We went back today with trading stock.  The gunshop guy had no problems letting me take the side plates off to examine the links and bolt.  Not that I'm an expert,  I didn't see any damage or poor repair.  We made a swap.  

It was a local gun.  Grandpa passed away.  The grandkids got the gun and promptly traded in for tacticool guns.  

It'll be fun to unravel just what I have.  Just up the road is a rabid Winchester collector. I may start by letting him give info on the gun.

I intend to shoot it but not in any hurry.  I have an old gunsmith buddy that knows a lot about these old guns. A few of the screws are buggered up. He may have original parts.  I'll probably slug the barrel to see where to start on bullet size. Then I'll get dies and bullets. 

Warden:

Such a lucky and timely find. Congrats.

These opportunities don't come along every day, you've got to grab them while you can.

Keep us posted. 

Comforting news came out of my visit with Winchester collector friend.   

He recognized the gun and had actually taken the plates off and examined the insides.  He said it was very shootable conditions.  There was nothing wrong with it and the price was very reasonable.   He didn't buy it because it wasn't unique or in a high collectable condition.