SASS Wire Forum

looking for information

El Muerto Negro

Hey Guys

I'm still very new to guns and as much as people are willing to help. I don't want to keep asking the same

questions over and over so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction for a book, web site, etc.

that is a good source of information on the proper cleaning and maintenance on the guns for our sport.

I would like it to include things like after each use you should after x amount of rounds or time you should.

before you store them away you should. including step by step instructions with illustrations a gun cleaning

maintenance for dummies if you will. :D

El Muerto Negro :FlagAm:

Hey Guys

I'm still very new to guns and as much as people are willing to help. I don't want to keep asking the same

questions over and over so I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction for a book, web site, etc.

that is a good source of information on the proper cleaning and maintenance on the guns for our sport.

I would like it to include things like after each use you should after x amount of rounds or time you should.

before you store them away you should. including step by step instructions with illustrations a gun cleaning

With smokeless power and primers of the last couple of decades or more, the need to immediately clean your guns has gone away. If you are shooting in the rain, damp conditions or severe dust, a quick outside clean will do it. Some will clean their guns completely after every shoot. Others will go 6 months without cleaning of any kind and go 12 months before a complete tear down, depending on how many rounds they have shot. I personally like the 6/12 method, but will for sure wipe them down if shooting in damp conditions to prevent rust. I do like to have at least one shoot on my guns before any major multi day match.

Now if you chose to shoot blackpowder, it is a completely different story.