SASS Wire Forum

MEC 9000 - This may save you some pain

Max Payne

I bought my MEC 9000 about 3 1/2 years ago. Since new, it has always had the "Ka-lump!" that many of you know & hate that happens about halfway up on the upstroke. I talked to MEC on the phone, I studied the manual, I finally pulled the thing down to nothing, cleaning, eye-balling & lubing everything in sight. It worked for awhile, then went back to its old ways. I didn't want to take it down again, so I just lived with it for a long time, shaking the whole bench, primers jumping around, & spilling powder regularly. I had an 8 lb jug of Titewad I bought when things got tight, & the Titewad didn't help anything. MEC said, "No wonder" when I told him I was using Titewad, & he sent me an oversize grommet, saying the Titewad is very fine, which makes it more likely to rain powder. The oversize grommet helped a lot, but didn't completely fix the powder leak.

I printed the whole stack of "fixes" listed on one of the other threads for the "Ka-lump" problem. I talked to some pards at the shoot this weekend, & it was suggested I try to find one of the discontinued MEC resizer, conditioner, de-primers. None available, but I did see where one sold not long ago on EBAY for about $135. I was told the de-priming station is the culprit, & if I could find the MEC gizmo, I would de-prime & re-size with it, then resume with the other stations on the loader. Seemed like a lot of extra work, but I was willing if I could find one.

I thought about buying a Dillon 900 & ditching the MEC. I also thought about just sending it back to MEC & paying to have whatever needed adjusting done by somebody who knew what they were doing.