SASS Wire Forum

Holographic sights

Cash Duckett

I'm just getting started with some black guns and was wondering what the difference is between a $58 holo sight and a $1,500 sight is? They all seem to have red and green dots and multiple reticles.

Thanks,

Cash

I'm just getting started with some black guns and was wondering what the difference is between a $58 holo sight and a $1,500 sight is? They all seem to have red and green dots and multiple reticles.

Thanks,

Cash

Like most things,

Ya' gits wat ya pays fer.

Many cheaper sights won't stand up to constant use, especially high-power loads. Then the "Dot" you aim with may look more like a smear or a comet, than a "Dot", making it hard to define your shot. Some of the expensive sights are solar-powered and/or use easy to find AA or 123 batteries that last 10,000 hours, while the cheap ones take button batteries that aren't easily found and don't last long.

I recently got inta one of those evil-black rifles :P , and have an EOTECH holo-sight on order for it. I'll only use my cheap red-dots for shooting .22 LR's and wouldn't trust one with my life. Of course, the AR has flip-up sights, just for backup :)

Depending on your budget the three most popular around here seems to be the EOTECH, AIMPOINT CompM4, and the ACOG. All three are great but have there respective limitations. For full out run and gun ie; typical multigun out to 200 yards all three are competitive. After that you might have to choose one or the other depending on the size of dot you want. Most have a 2moa dot but some feature a 1moa dot. 1moa has an advantage past 200 yards as it does not block out targets as bad. I believe all three may accept doubler/tripler magnifiers.

Just my opinion all three are great for fast target shooting..., for percision shooting under 1moa start looking for glass to top you rifle with.

My budget allowed for an EOTECH and I love it's quick target aquisition on close (under 200) targets.