SASS Wire Forum

Best book about Wyatt Earp

Errol Plain, SASS #47739

Stuart Lake's Wyatt Earp - Frontier Marshal is not the best Earp book from a factual/historical context, but is the one which is probably most responsible for the promotion of the Wyatt Earp legend. For that reason, it is worth the read. I have a first edition, complete with dust jacket.

Other folks will, no doubt, chime in with better historical narratives.

Regards, TJH

As to Custer....try killing Custer and Troopers with Custer. Unique accounts about Custer and The Battle of the Little Big Horn, as well as some other "battles"...maybe he was not the hero I was raised to believe that he was. Nice to see views published from the other side, such as troopers and native Americans, which was rare to find in my history books.....but then I'm no youngster sothe history I studied in high school was pretty biased.

This is funny as last night I finished "The Last Gunfight" by Jeff Quinn. This is a new book that deals heavily on the underlying reasons behind the gunfight. As before mentioned the Lake biography is very unreliable as it was based on the notes of John Flood who tried to do a biography but failed. Not due to Flood's doing but that Wyatt did not talk much and many times gave vastly different versions of the same incident. Also Josephine Marcus made a biography difficult as she insisted on editorial approval before release. Lake's biography was released in 1931 and the Depression was in full tilt.