Chicken George* Posted September 23, 2024 Posted September 23, 2024 Rifle is shot first and is staged on a prop horse before going up range to shoot. Horse is pointed slightly to the right. After shooter finished shooting the stage he walked in front of the horse and his rifle before he picked it up on the right side. He was given a SDQ. Is that the correct call?
PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495L Posted September 23, 2024 Posted September 23, 2024 Please quote the applicable rule violation (if any).
Dusty Devil Dale Posted September 23, 2024 Posted September 23, 2024 Two questions: 1) Was the shooter the only person swept by his/her rifle, or did a T.O. also get swept in following the shooter? My understanding has been that a shooter sweeping themself is a no call. Not so for sweeping a T.O. 2) What do you mean by "slightly to the right"? If the stage requires the gun to be restated in a position that places the shooter's required movement within the 170 degree range, I would absolutely call that a defective and unsafe stage design.
PaleWolf Brunelle, #2495L Posted September 23, 2024 Posted September 23, 2024 27 minutes ago, Dusty Devil Dale said: Two questions: 1) Was the shooter the only person swept by his/her rifle, or did a T.O. also get swept in following the shooter? My understanding has been that a shooter sweeping themself is a no call. Not so for sweeping a T.O. If the empty rifle was restaged safely (per stage instructions) for "down range movement" (i.e. angled away from the path taken to move forward to engage revolver and/or shotgun targets), it is not considered "sweeping" upon the shooter's (or TO or spotters) return uprange at the end of the stage. 27 minutes ago, Dusty Devil Dale said: 2) What do you mean by "slightly to the right"? If the stage requires the gun to be restaged in a position that places the shooter's required movement within the 170 degree range, I would absolutely call that a defective and unsafe stage design. The OP stated that the shooter chose to move around to the opposite side of the safely restaged rifle after the stage was over. It was pointed in a safe direction for the mid-stage "required movement". NO VIOLATION = NO PENALTY
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.