SASS Wire Forum

Cowboy Action Shooting Gun Cart

Hawk Eyes Hudson

Hey Wranglers,

I am a newbie to this game and I hope with a little time I will smooth and sharpen my edge.  I am the curious type when it comes to guns and have armored several AR and Ruger 10/22.  Many fine guns I hope I never have to part with.  I do have a women?  Anyways, I have purchased two Ruger 44 Vaqueros and tuned them up with Longhunter spring kits and Power Custom half cock trigger kits.  I only screwed up one paw.  They are now slicker than owl substance.

I do digress!  I like to do things myself, when I can.  I decided that I can build my own gun cart.  Pictures attached.  I am looking for a name for this behemoth.

War Wagon/John Wayne Movie or Chuckwagon, cause it's loaded.  If any of you folks get the notion for a good name please drop me a message and I will post the winner in about a month.

Hawk Eyes Hudson

SASS # 112559

aka: Ric W.

IMG-1649.jpg

IMG-1650.jpg

IMG-1651.jpg

IMG-1652.jpg

IMG-1653.jpg

IMG-1654.jpg

Unfinished project!  I will be adding my handle with umbrella support and an anti tilt mech, for when the front box is light.  The latches on the side allows me to fold the gun box on top of the storage compartment if it becomes necessary.  I will post more pictures when I get these modifications done.  If my kids ever want to follow their Pappy on the SASS/CAS trail we will have plenty of room for awhile.

Keep your powder dry and you lips wet!

H.E.H.

"Just a little heavy"

I have made nine and have the makes of five more to do in the garage.  Each one is different to meet different needs.

The first one, before I had actually seen nothing but pictures of SASS gun carts, was made of 3/4-inch red oak and offers every solution for our needs.  It is easily disassembled and folds down to the height of just the base.  It would be much like yours.  It is pretty but is rarely used.  It takes two men and a boy to load that sucker.

Howdy Cowboys,