SASS Wire Forum

Uberti vs Winchester (Miroku) 1873 in .357

powertube

Hey guys, 

I want to buy a 73 in the next few days. Main purpose will be some kind of steel shooting  and also CAS in the future. 
Right now I'm only getting into CAS for fun, not going ultra fast so things like short-stroke kits, availability etc. are not relevant right now. 

I'm looking for a 20" (don't like to 24" octagons too much) but can't decide between miroku and the ubertis. I could test both the last days (20" Miroku short rifle and 24" uberti octagon) and hardly could spot a difference in the slickness of the action. Maybe the miroku was a tad better, but it can just be imagination because of what I read on the internet. 

From what I've read the Ubertis are pretty good, but the Mirokus are superior in fitting and slickness of the action. Also Ubertis screws are bad (soft)  Is the difference really remarkable? 

Here in Germany, Winchesters are selling for roundabout 1300-1600 euros, Ubertis between 1000 and 1300 euros (Both NIB) 
The rifle should work smooth and reliable out of the box, after my Odyssey with a Rossi I don't want to get into home gunsmithing too bad. 

• powertube changed the title to Uberti vs Winchester (Miroku) 1873 in .357

I recently purchased a Uberti 1873 Competition,  20" octagonal barrel, which comes short stroked. It was too stiff to use out of the box and sent it straight to a gunsmith for slicking up. I find the octagonal barrel to be front end heavy. Thinking I should have waited until a Winchester became available.