Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum

WTC


Chief Rick

Recommended Posts

Scenario calls for 10 rounds from the rifle and 4+ shotgun.

 

Shooting order is rifle then shotgun.

image.png.09d6d8fbf1b326743a84315700b0646e.png

Rifle is to Nevada sweep four rifle targets, double-tapping each end target; R1, R1, R2, R3, R4, R4, R3, R2, R1, R1.

 

Shotgun is four targets in any order.

 

Shooter starts with rifle and engages/hits R1, R1, R2 and R3.  Shooter then has a jam in the rifle. 

Upon clearing the jam, shooter engages/hits (knocks down) S4.  Spotters say wrong target. 

Shooter then engages/hits R4, R3, R2, R1, R1.

 

Shooter then picks up shotgun, engages/knocks down S1, S2 and S3 and then shoots over S-4 (where it was).

 

What's the call?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

One miss.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Miss 

Miss because one round hit a SG target not a R target. No P because his first round at R4 hit SG4 instead, his, required, second round at R4 hit.

The sweep was performed correctly, with one miss

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, Jay Vendetta said:

Would just be a miss right? Miss is a either hitting the wrong target type, like described here, or just flat out missing. And a miss can't cause a penalty. 

If he shot R4 twice, with shots 6 and 7, it would be a P and a Miss. Shots 5 and 6 were for R4. Shot 7 was for R3. So, in this case, the P would have resulted from the Miss, and not engaging the sweep with the correct shots.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Flying W Ramrod said:

If he shot R4 twice, with shots 6 and 7, it would be a P and a Miss. Shots 5 and 6 were for R4. Shot 7 was for R3. So, in this case, the Miss would have caused a P

Actually, if the shooter had engaged/hit R4, R4, R3, R2, R1 after hitting S4- and then not engaged R1 for a second time - it would still only be a miss.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just now, Chief Rick said:

Actually, if the shooter had engaged/hit R4, R4, R3, R2, R1 after hitting S4- and then not engaged R1 for a second time - it would still only be a miss.

Nope. Each round has a home in a designated sweep. Round 1 and 2 are for R1. Round 3 for R2 etc. Had he ejected that round instead of hitting S4, then it would only be a M, in this situation

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, Flying W Ramrod said:

If he shot R4 twice, with shots 6 and 7, it would be a P and a Miss. Shots 5 and 6 were for R4. Shot 7 was for R3. So, in this case, the P would have resulted from the Miss, and not engaging the sweep with the correct shots.

 

I agree that there would be both a miss and penalty in your scenario but that isn't the miss causing the penalty that is the shooter shooting out of order on the rest of the sweep. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

One miss for the rifle round MISSING a rifle target & hitting a SG target.
Shotgun was engaged properly (i.e., shooting "where it was" for the downed target).

Asked & answered.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.