SASS Wire Forum

45 ACP Vaquero’s

Ninety Caliber Al, 50218

I can't comment on the Vaquero's, but I have a set of Uberti Cattleman in 45 Colt that I purchased 45 ACP cylinders for. I shoot them a couple times a year with 45 ACP and they work quite well for me. I wouldn't see why shooting 45 ACP in a Vaquero would be any different with a 45 ACP cylinder.

I had a convertible Vaquero (old model) about 20 years ago.  Since 45acp headspaces on the case mouth, I found that there was a max length of brass that could be used and if any longer the rim would rub against the recoil shield.  I had to sort my brass before loading it since about 10% or so was too long (I don't recall what that length was).  Never heard of anyone else with that issue so it could have just been that gun.  But if I had another, I would cycle empty brass through it first to be sure.

I have a pair I got when I was shooting Bullseye pistol before I started shooting Cowboy.  I used them to shoot loads I didn’t like and they worked fine. I also have a Blackhawk with a .45 acp cylinder but I haven’t shot it yet.

Randy

2 hours ago, Abilene, SASS # 27489 said:

I had a convertible Vaquero (old model) about 20 years ago.  Since 45acp headspaces on the case mouth, I found that there was a max length of brass that could be used and if any longer the rim would rub against the recoil shield.  I had to sort my brass before loading it since about 10% or so was too long (I don't recall what that length was).  Never heard of anyone else with that issue so it could have just been that gun.  But if I had another, I would cycle empty brass through it first to be sure.