SASS Wire Forum

What Age for Grandsons at the Range?

bgavin

Our last one is turning 5 this October.
He is the only one I have to start young at the range.
I have a Henry Frontier 22 that I can bench rest as he starts out.

What have you all found with the starting age?

I bought my daughter a Marlin model 60 when she was  7. I think 7 is a good age  to learn to shoot. I did teach her about gun safety at around 5 and did allow  her to shoot a BB gun under my supervision, of course. I think 5 is too early for live ammo. That is just my opinion. A lot depends on the child as well.

Every range has age limits...may vary.

Most say 10 yrs n order to compete..

Fasthammer had his grandson go last, staging and 'shooting' the stage with toy guns...it was a good show of concentration/ability to follow instruction/skil set.

Maybe start with that and progress from there?

I started shooting a .22, in my grandfather's cow pasture, with my grand-dad, and dad present, when I was 4. 

If a child is old enough to stand, and talk, and understand, and respond, then they are old enough to go to the range, or cow pasture. 

However...the range may have age restrictions, but the cow pasture doesn't.

The safe use of firearms, for hunting, and sport, and defense, and fun, can never be taught too early. 

My opinion.  

W.K. 

At 6 I had my granddaughter start with a Red Rider BB gun. It was used to teach her the safe handling of guns, sight picture, and the fun of knocking over pop cans.

At 7 I taught her how to shoot a Ruger 10/22.

I am ow teaching her how to shoot a Winchester 22 highwall at 100 yard targets.

Saturday the BB gun was laying in the back of the truck. I asked her to get it to see how she'd handle it. Picked it up muzzle away from both of us and then muzzle up to carry it. 

Range safety is course No.1

All,  good answers, thanks.

Here in Sacramento County, it is illegal to shoot BB or pellet guns in the back yard.