SASS Wire Forum

Looking the gun into the holster?

Crusty Knees

I'm relatively new at this, and had a question about "looking" the gun into the holster.

I've watched a lot of videos of top shooters on Utube and it seems split, some do, some don't.  I know that the holsters are going to be where you left them.  But, during dryfire practice I managed to drop one on the carpet.   So, it go me thinking.

If I wanted to get faster.  :D:lol:  (I normally take 30 seconds a stage!  But, I'm only really getting started).  Should I just trust to muscle memory?  Or, is the 2 seconds it takes to watch the guns back into the holsters, (I'm figuring a second per gun), much better than a potential SDQ and ruining the day?!

You don't drop the gun where the holster "should" be. You feel it into the holster so you don't drop it unless it is in the holster. Not sayin I can do it, just that is the technique to keep from having to look it in and take your eyes off the target. I can do it with the right holster, left, not so much.

I look them into the holster.  Dropping a revolver for the first time started me on looking them into the holster and renewed my interest in leather work.  You must have holsters that stay open once you draw a gun.

As a gunfighter, whenever possible, I shoot pistols last so I can re-holster off the clock.

IMO, since you are new, more time in the game at live and dry firing should be given before the "no look move".  There will be a time later when you will feel a comfort zone to NOT look.  Of course even then, it can happen.  I am speaking from a view/experience of double duelist, but I feel same should probably be true to the two-handed shooter.  I usually do not look the right in but if holstering left on a move to right then I am glancing left gun in as I move.