SASS Wire Forum

Carbide die sets?

Dusty Boots

A friend called today with a question I would like to pass on to more experienced reloaders than myself. He has a Dillon 550 and needs a die set for a 45 apc. He wanted to know if carbide dies are worth the extra money and if so why. He loads some cast bullets but mainly jacketed ones. Also he would like to know if there is a reason to keep everything Dillon.

I told him I am no expert, but I am in SASS, and there are members who load 1000s of rounds who will know. So I told him I would ask and share the link to the SASS wire with him. Who knows maybe a potential new member.

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge with him and me.

DB

Okay, on carbide dies...YES! they are so far superior to standard dies it is a no-brainer. Not having to lube every case, even with the new spray lubes, is wonderful.

On Dillon dies? I use RCBS, Hornady and Lee. My go to now are Lee, they work just fine on my 550.

Carbide dies are absolutely worthwhile.  I like Dillon dies just fine, but also use Lee, RCBS, and Redding dies on my Dillon and RCBS presses.  The Lee Factory Crimp die is my favorite for straight wall cases, even in combination with others.

Big YES to carbide sizer dies!

I really like the RCBS die line for most cartridge loading.  But, many of the Dillon dies are quite nice, too.   Especially the seater die in Dillon's pistol sets which has a drop-out seater stem making it easy to clean bullet lube out of the die.   I know of no other common die line that has that great feature.

Lee dies often do not have a positive lock on the stems that are in the dies, nor on the "lock" rings that rely on an o-ring to hold them at their setting, which always seems to drift especially when die is unscrewed from a press.

So, there's a different reason to prefer each of the various manufacturers' lines of loading dies.   Depends upon what is important to you.   Buying cheap dies that cause me grief is not my idea of a bargain.