SASS Wire Forum

Your Favorite HOT Sauce —-Updated

Yul Lose

I’ve been using a green habanero sauce for the last six months or so on eggs, omelets, tacos and such and it doesn’t seem that spicy anymore so I’m moving up to the next heat level. Are any of you hot sauce addicts like me and if you are what’s your choice?

Mrs. Lose had this stashed away in the pantry. Someone had given it to her a long time ago for me to try and she just came across it. I must say it’s quite a bit hotter than the habanero and has a good flavor. The heat sneaks up on you a bit.

B93BC60F-B2A6-4ACD-8C1E-54378A66DEBC.jpeg

I’ve been watching this TV show called The Hot Ones.  I’m working my way up their list.  

My current hottest sauce is Fiji Fire Native Bongo Chili Hot Sauce.  I put it on boiled eggs, sandwiches, and flour tortillas.  It has a Scoville rating of 14,300.

One that is arriving today is Scotch Bonnet Mustard at 36000 Scoville.

What’s the Scoville rating of your sauce, Yul?

I top out at Tabasco Habanero, and that used sparingly.   I made up some garlic-pepper sauce in the fall using Fresno peppers from my plants.  About the heat level of Tabasco Jalapeno but a richer flavor.  

I've tried some of the insanely hot sauces and all they do is kill the taste buds for the rest of the meal for me.  More power to you if you like the really hot stuff.  

I was going to make a recommendation but I don’t want to get laughed off the page. You gents obviously like HOT sauce. My favorite sauce is just spicy. ;)

Different sauces, depending on the use. I don't like heat just for heat. I like flavor. 

For wings I'm partial to Rickey's wing sauce or a new to me habanero that I picked up a couple weeks ago (don't remember the name- it's in the fridge in Italy and I'm in Spain).

I don't like Tabasco brand. Too vinegary for me. 

I do like Cholula, Louisiana and Tapatio.

I find I use Huy Fong Foods Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce more than anything. 

10 minutes ago, South-Eye Ned said: