SASS Wire Forum

Video Request: Cocking Hammered SxS

Cholla

I remember seeing a video posted here a couple of years ago in which the shooter gave direction on how to cock and load a hammered SxS on the clock. I though I had saved it but I guess I didn't. If you know of this video, please direct me to it.

Thank you. That's the one. I searched every combination of shotgun term I could think of but it didn't show up.

2 minutes ago, Cholla said:

Thank you. That's the one. I searched every combination of shotgun term I could think of but it didn't show up.

I searched YouTube for TBone Dooley Shotgun based on memory. 

It's saved in my favorites now. Now I see if I can do this without taking the skin off my palm...

9 minutes ago, Warden Callaway said:

What shotgun do you have?   

The CZ hammer coach, much like the one in the video you posted a day or two ago.

I started SASS with a Chinese Century Arms SxS, and I studied this video intently trying to follow T-Bone's directives.  Unfortunately, the Century's hammer springs were pilfered off of a 3/4 ton truck, and cocking the hammers just using the palm of your hand just absolutely would not happen.  If I can ever afford a nice hammered shotgun, I'm going to go back and try this method again.  Great video!

2 minutes ago, Marshal Hangtree said:

I started SASS with a Chinese Century Arms SxS, and I studied this video intently trying to follow T-Bone's directives.  Unfortunately, the Century's hammer springs were pilfered off of a 3/4 ton truck, and cocking the hammers just using the palm of your hand just absolutely would not happen.  If I can ever afford a nice hammered shotgun, I'm going to go back and try this method again.  Great video!

The CZ Hammer Coach springs are pretty stout as well. That's my issue.

35 minutes ago, Cholla said:

The CZ Hammer Coach springs are pretty stout as well. That's my issue.

I've not had a problem with the spring weight on my CZ-USA.