Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Mustang Gregg

WTC? Hit vs miss?

Recommended Posts

Posted (edited)

I cannot get all of the online SASS handbooks to open this morning. :angry:

Or I would find the answer to this one.

 

So I am posing this question to the Wire.

This happened 2+ years ago and now it's happened again, I was told.

The shooter shot the stage and had 1 miss according to all three spotters.

The TO said, "No, the shooter hit the edge of the target in question."

 

I know the "unknown hit or miss" always goes down as a hit if there is a question among the spotters.

Well, does the TO (who's focus should be on the shooter and their weapon) have the power to change their unanimous call?

 

Much obliged,

MG

 

PS  I have to go to work now, but I will check the thread this evening.

 

 

Edited by Mustang Gregg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's a miss.  Spotters rule in this case.

 

The TO can point out where he saw the edge hit, and the spotters can change their call.  However, if they decide that it was a miss, it's still a miss.

  • Like 6
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Miss - Next shooter

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
33 minutes ago, Null N. Void said:

It's a miss.  Spotters rule in this case.

 

The TO can point out where he saw the edge hit, and the spotters can change their call.  However, if they decide that it was a miss, it's still a miss.

+1

 

Randy

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
42 minutes ago, Mustang Gregg said:

Well, does the TO (who's focus should be on the shooter and their weapon) have the power to change their unanimous call?

No.

 

This should now be the end of the discussion...

  • Like 1
  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In some situations, the TO can clearly see the firearm, the target and have an excellent view of where the bullet went - and be doing their job well.

 

But it is up to the spotters to call the miss/hits.  In this case, the TO is advisory only - they can inform the spotters of what they saw but cannot override their vote.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To can not overrule 3 spotters they can point out what they perceive as a edge hit but 2 of the 3 spotters would have to change their calls. 

Rafe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

SHB pg 25

 

Quote

The  CRO/TO  may  unilaterally  assign  penalties  for  safety  violations  and procedural  errors  when  they  have  clearly  occurred  (this  does  not  include  assessing  misses).  Assessing  misses  is  purely  in  the  purview  of  the  spotters. 

 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

75e186dd-8d08-4e04-ba4d-886a90e26c42.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, Phantom, SASS #54973 said:

No.

 

This should now be the end of the discussion...

It was answered, correctly, within 10 minutes. It would really help to promote brevity if no one chimed in after that. But we know that will never happen, everyone has an extra 2 cents hanging around.

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

But, but what if....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Lock this thread then.

That was the correct answer I trust.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One more (final) reference:

 

Quote

A TO does not have the authority to overrule the spotters in regard to misses, but can question spotters as to the location of misses.

RO1 p.79

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.