SASS Wire Forum

What distance to practice concealed carry..

If they are closer than 10 feet, they are too close already.  At 6 feet they can come pretty close to touching you with hands (or an extended weapon of their own).

I'm a firearms instructor for law enforcement and also have my own business teaching civilians. By far most deadly force encounters are 12ft and closer but I strongly urge my students to be incredibly proficient at that distance to work it way out to 50ft. When evil visits you it will determine the time and distance. Will  you be ready? 

Practice from Contact range to out as far as you can shoot at that range. 

The guy that shot the shooter in the Church a while back did it from 50-60 feet. 

If you can do multiple targets, don't just Nevada Sweep every time.  Mix it up and don't develop the habit of R to L or L to R.

I second Dirty Dutch Brody's sentiments.  I'm a FBI certified Firearms Instructor, and I also teach civilian concealed carry and self defense classes.  The vast majority of personal defense encounters are going to be less than 20 feet, but proficiency with your chosen handgun out to 50 feet is indeed necessary.  Also, don't forget to spend a good deal of time shooting one handed at close ranges.

While not an instructor, when asked, I always recommend spending the majority of time shooting within 25', considering the standard 21' distance cited for closure with an edged weapon. Clearly, practicing some out to distances of 50' are beneficial as well. I don't practice much one handed shooting, other than for CAS (I shoot Duelist, after all), but I will on occasion, just to mix it up.

I will say, I am not one of those who tries to figure out how to best rack a slide one handed, or any of that, although I do practice drawing from concealment and presentation. I should do more, I must admit.

12 minutes ago, Rance - SASS # 54090 said:

Marshall Hangtree..

Good point shooting one handed practice..