SASS Wire Forum

Non-SASS: question on California gun laws

Fort Reno Kid

Howdy to my Pards in California 

Question for you on California gun laws.  Actually two.  I’m a resident of the Republic of Texas.  My son resides (I say this tongue-in-cheek; no offense intended) in The  People’s Demokratik Republik of Kalifornia). I love visiting San Diego but am firmly rooted where I am. I’m getting longer in the tooth and have started “thinning the herd “ as regards my shootin’ irons.  The irons with family connections and sentimental value are going to family members.

1st Question: is a US Carbine caliber 30 M1 legal in the state of California?  I ask because its issue magazine holds 15 rounds and there are 30- and 40-round magazines available.  To the best of my knowledge it cannot be permanently modified to hold less than 10 rounds ... and who would want to do so? Is there an exception for it due to its age and antiquity (dated 1944 on the barrel)?  Hate to give it to my son if it renders him in violation of the law.

2nd question:  is a US M1 Garand legal in California?  I’m hoping it’s on firmer ground as it takes an en bloc clip of 8 rounds and cannot, to best of my knowledge, be modified to take magazines or whatever with greater than 8-round capacity.

In the “eat your heart out” category, the Carbine was purchased in the 1960’s from the Director of Civilian Marksmanship for $18 plus $8 shipping The Garand was purchased from the Civilian Marksmanship Program for $275. 

Also have a DCM 1903A3 Springfield (1960’s DCM; $10 plus $10 shipping) and am assuming (correctly?) that its age and fixed 5-round capacity would not run it afoul of California law.

My son and I had wonderful times with these historic and very shootable irons and I’d like to be able to pass them on.

Would appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks and Adios 

Fort Reno Kid