SASS Wire Forum

A memory, and a good one!

Coyote is a prominent character in Native American folklore: known also as Trickster, the Coyote has been compared to the Norse Loki.

I am no expert on comparative religions, I am just a poor dumb hillbilly, but the snows of many winters have stained my beard white, and ancient memories stir at times.

Other times, the memories are not quite so antediluvian.

A Farcebook correspondent wrote of losing an old and dear friend, and I wrote back a reply, for he'd said if anyone wished to know more about his boon companion it would take face time, three fingers of good bourbon, and some salt water tears, and I thought of just such a soul I'd known.

I've mentioned Brother Beymer time and again: he was living proof that not all brothers are born of the same womb, and it would be perilously easy to side track onto any of a bloody ton of memories of the man.

Let me instead remain with the Cowboy Genre.

Coyote is native to this continent, and was a fixture in Cowboy lore and legend, and the song of the yodel dog was a familiar one to the period we know as "The American West."

The kickoff for this specific memory was another Farcebook post, where someone posted wolfsong on the High Church Coyote page (where they take their fun very seriously) ... and those two posts resulted in the following.  

I believe, in light of our common interest in the romance and history of the West, it's an entirely appropriate memory.

I've never been privileged to hear wolves in song.