Jump to content
SASS Wire Forum
Sign in to follow this  
Outrider Outlaw

did I call it right?

Recommended Posts

This past weekend at a local club's monthly match I was the TO.  After one shooter had a particularly bad stage I polled the spotters as usual.  One spotter had 4 misses, one had 6 misses and the third said clean.  I went to the third spotter and said the other two had 4 and 6  and you had clean?  She admitted she wasn't paying attention.  I called it at 5 misses.  Did I do the right thing or should I have gone with 4?  Yes, that 3rd spotter got a particularly nasty look from me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hope she doesn't spot regularly.  I would have gone with 4 because two spotters agreed that 4 were missed. One did not agree that 5 were missed, and one was NOT spotting at all.

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 because the spotters agreed on that and change of spotter.

 

Edit: You call 4 misses a "particularly bad stage"? Hah:D;)

Edited by Cypress Sun
  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would side with the shooter at 4 misses but I am not the TO or an RO.

 

The third spotter needs to wake up or do something else.

  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The reason there are three spotters is there are three perspectives to observe from. Some perspectives have advantage. Some may see dirt fly and another sees the edge clip.

 

Rule book gives benefit to the shooter, so 4 is the call.

 

Not like this shooter is going to be in the competition for the grand prize or anything!

 

At least spotter #3 didn't copy-cat the other spotter.

"I didn't see any misses" is the proper reply in any case. If you can't follow the shooters sequence (gunfighter especially) just say it.

If you can't pay attention spotting, pick up brass...

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can't see a miss. You can only see a hit.  ;)

 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The 2 spotters who were actually spotting, agreed on 4. Four it is.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

 

Nope.  No way.  Odd guy out here.  Benefit of doubt always goes to the shooter.  Spotter 3 didn't pay attention.  Spotter(s) 1 and 2 didn't agree.  No consensus.

 

CLEAN  :ph34r:

  • Like 1
  • Confused 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
5 hours ago, Utah Bob #35998 said:

You can't see a miss. You can only see a hit.  ;)

 

 

Actually-you can see a 'miss' out here in the desert.;)

OLG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, Colorado Coffinmaker said:

 

Nope.  No way.  Odd guy out here.  Benefit of doubt always goes to the shooter.  Spotter 3 didn't pay attention.  Spotter(s) 1 and 2 didn't agree.  No consensus.

 

CLEAN  :ph34r:

 

There's a reason we use 3 spotters. Not uncommon to have a discrepancy in count.

Spotter #3 does not CXL out what the others saw.

Spotter #3 was replaced, I hope--

OLG

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Colorado Coffinmaker said:

 

Nope.  No way.  Odd guy out here.  Benefit of doubt always goes to the shooter.  Spotter 3 didn't pay attention.  Spotter(s) 1 and 2 didn't agree.  No consensus.

 

CLEAN  :ph34r:

There doesn't have to be a consensus.  Spotters 1 and 2 agreed that there were at least 4 misses, therefore the call is 4, which is giving the spotter the BOD on the other two possible misses.

  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Lorelei Longshot, SASS #44256 Life said:

Hope she doesn't spot regularly.  I would have gone with 4 because two spotters agreed that 4 were missed. One did not agree that 5 were missed, and one was NOT spotting at all.

+1000000

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
15 hours ago, Blast Masterson said:

If you can't pay attention spotting, pick up brass...

 

Problem is they can’t see the brass either so you end up only getting back about 1/2 your brass. :(

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.