SASS Wire Forum
Boomstick Bruce

Finally switched categories

So I started CAS/SASS about 3 years ago. Everyone told me to shoot an aged based category until I got comfortable with the in's and out's of cowboy action shooting. About 5 years prior to getting into CAS, I shot a few black powder matches with "eye of the hawk" in Maine. We shot for accuracy scores at 25, 50 and 100yds, iirc. I shot against guys using rifles with a 8" barrel 58 remington. I never won a match, but i never placed lower than 3rd either. At those matches they had me shoot "duelist" and I got quite accustomed to it. When i started CAS, i started shooting "squaw gripper" and did ok but it never felt right to me. So a few months ago I decided i was going to shoot a match at the NRA with the Virginia City Marshals duelist and use my 47 Walker and one of my 12" 58 Remingtons both with drop in 45colt conversions. I did well, had one miss, and had a good time!

So yesterday i decided i was going to shoot duelist category with my pair of 5.5" 58's in 45colt. Well it all just felt natural to me,  shot an average of 35 seconds per stage and shot the whole match clean!!!

So, I have decided to join the ranks of Duelist shooters!

• Like 13

Posted (edited)

Now you need to take the pledge and become a Pistolero. :)

Edited by Sedalia Dave
  • Like 4

Posted (edited)

Well now that you’ve started walking (pistolero) start running with the big boys (gunfighters) we get to use two guns.:D

Here’s ours.

598ACB45-E28D-4AAD-B543-DE69B1AD0BF8.jpeg

Edited by Yul Lose
  • Like 4
  • Confused 1

Welcome to the underestimated ranks of Duelist! 

I had a similar story. Shot two handed and constantly had misses and procedurals. Switched to Duelist middle of last year and my times have improved and the misses are way down!!