SASS Wire Forum

Complications...probably having surgery in the AM

Pat Riot

Some of you may remember my post about my motorcycle accident. In that post I said I had 4 broken ribs near my spine. I also have a broken collarbone and some road rash, bruises and stoved toes. 

At the hospital the day of the accident they said ribs 4 - 7 were broken. 

Monday I had to go to the emergency room at a hospital near me because the road rash on my knee was infected and to get more pain meds. St Francis hospital only gave me a limited amount and they were no where near strong enough. 

They patched up my knee , prescribed me some proper pain meds along with muscle relaxers and antibiotics for the road rash ( something St Francis should have given me, but I am no doctor. What do I know? :wacko: )

So for the past couple of days I have been taking more ibuprofen and less of the Norco and things have been feeling a little better. This morning I woke up and took 4 Advil and started my day. 

I took a shower and with a little difficulty I completed my task with no assistance needed from my wonderful wife. When I was getting all dried off I felt a twinge in my back right between my shoulder blades right above where I was having pain before. All of a sudden that twinge became a steak knife shoved into my back.

It was the most excruciating pain I have ever felt...and I have had some pain in my time.

My wife brought me back to the hospital. The ER doctor had me X-Rayed again and she comes in and tells me she can clearly see the fractures in my ribs and can’t see why I am having the pain that I am having. She said “ I can clearly see fractures in ribs 6 through 9.

I told her that St Francis hospital said it was ribs 4-7. 

She said “No it’s definitely 6-9.”

Then she left and came back a couple of minutes later and said she had spoken to a Thorasic Surgeon and that he recommended I have a CT Scan because something wasn’t right about the amount of pain I was in. 

So I had a CT scan.