SASS Wire Forum

WTC, Are These Boots Legal?

Null N. Void

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Works for everything but B Western and Classic Cowboy/Girl.

11 hours ago, irish ike, SASS #43615 said:

War them and anybody gives you any crap, just tell them you have a medical condition that requires you to wear them.

Ike

Well, I'm no expert on what is or isn't appropriate footwear for Cowboy attire in CAS/SASS. However, most folks know which items are or are not in the spirit of the game. I truly understand that not everyone can wear cowboy pull-on boots.. However, there are a lot of other options. Your comment suggests using a medical condition excuse for footwear choice whether or not a shooter has a condition which limits his ability to wear western style footwear. Sorry but I don't agree with that line of thought.

16 hours ago, Null N. Void said:

I can't find anything that says these are illegal for age related categories.  The look similar to Brogans used in the 1800's.

http://www.ushist.com/19th-century_mens_boots_shoes.shtml#item8

Null N. Void

Boots.jpg

SHB Page 2 

Participants may choose the style of costume they wish to wear, but all clothing must be typical of the late 19th century, a B-Western movie, or Western television series.

Those do not look typical for the late 19th century nor do they look B-Western.

Here’s a pair of brogans

https://goo.gl/images/BVV33N

I’m with Keystone, claiming a medical exemption you’re not entitled to definitely isn’t in the spirit of the game.

17 hours ago, Null N. Void said:

I can't find anything that says these are illegal for age related categories.  The look similar to Brogans used in the 1800's.

http://www.ushist.com/19th-century_mens_boots_shoes.shtml#item8

Null N. Void

Boots.jpg

Perfectly fine to wear! You're feet will thank you!

51 minutes ago, Phantom, SASS #54973 said:

Not cowboy at all.