SASS Wire Forum

Uberti Stallion revolvers

Snakebite

I would like to hear from anyone that has first hand knowledge of the Uberti Stallion revolvers in 38 Special. I bought a pair several years ago but didn't really use them because they were just too small, so I moved them along. Now, after over 25 yrs, my wife started playing this game. I got her a pair of SS Ruger Single Six 32 H&R revolvers, they are great and she likes them... but it would be nice to only load one cartridge. So I just thought that I would ask folks that actually use the Stallions what they think of them.

Snakebite 

I have a stainless in 22lr-22mag. I really like it, but I have no experience with the 38's. I do know that for a while there was an issue with firing pins, but think that is a thing of the past. There is also some who have had their Ruger 32's converted to 38's ($$$).

Wife has been shooting a pair in .38 special for about 4 years and loves them. They have never given her any trouble. All I have done to them is I polished up the internals and put reduced power mainsprings and a lighter wire trigger spring in them. They use the same mainspring and trigger spring as the full size Uberti SSAs. 

My only complaint is that the ejector rods on hers are too short to fully eject the case. They only push it about 2/3rds of the way out of the cylinder. Near as I can tell there is no rhyme or reason as to the length of the ejectors as compaired to the length of the barrels.

Because she shoots a 92 in B-Western the OAL that the 92 likes ( 125 gr LTC with an OAL of 1.507) is just a hair too long to use in the Stallions. A friend had a .38 special cylinder reamer so we opened up the cylinders just a hair to accomidate 38 specials with a longer than spec OAL so that I don't have to keep track of two different OALs..