SASS Wire Forum

If I knew then what I know now.

July Smith

If you could or had to acquire guns and gear all over for SASS knowing what you know now what would you do differently? 

I'm still new to SASS so still learning all that I don't know but for me I sure would not have bought so many guns in 45colt.  Sure maybe one or two 45s just to have a 45, but I seem to have ended up with a glut of 45s only to end up loving 44s and 38s.  Second I think I would have avoided the Rossi 92, sure they can be slicked up and made to work right but in the end, I think the money would have been better spent towards a Uberti 73 or Browing 92.  Third I would have gotten into this understanding not to cheap out on gun leather.

I ordered my Vaqueros before joining SASS. I had read and watched many videos on the topic so I just knew I had to have .38/.357. After my first or second match, I realized I wanted to shoot Classic Cowboy. In the meantime, my wife took a liking to CAS and decided that she liked my .38/.357 gear, so I had to buy more guns, and I still don't know exactly what I want. I think I would like the Ruger Bisley or another set of the SASS Vaqueros in .45 Colt.

At first I thought this was about dating....In high school...Knew then, what we know today...We would all be in jail...Or just finishing our time...Sure glad I was a slow learner...

Texas Lizard

And I still prefer anything that start with a 4...

I would have stuck with .38's like I started with! I went to .45's then .44-40 with black powder and now back home to .38's!!

I love my 45 colts. I have 7 handguns and 3 rifles in that caliber. Started with 38/357 and I have kept those handguns and rifles. Probably will end up back there once day. I love playing Classic Cowboy so for now it is 45s for me.