SASS Wire Forum

What guns to buy? Uberti vs Miroku 73's

Smokewagon Forty-Five

I am new to this sport and about ready to buy the guns in 45 colt (I have other guns in 45 colt and reloading EQ so I am staying with 45)! I have been to some of the CAS matches and have shot some of the guns but I would like to get some in put from you guys! I was all set to buy the Uberti 1873 but I love the real American walnut of the Japan Miroku Winchester 73! What are pros and cons of the two?  I am also looking at Taylor's & Co. Running Iron's in 45 colt 4.75"! Long range I was looking at the Miroku Winchester 1886 in 45-70 what is your in put on the above guns?? I have a nice (1907) Winchester 97 ready to go but I would also like to get a 87 down the road! I love the lever guns!

+1 on Miroku. Went from a self slicked Rossi 92 45 to the Miroku 45, both 24" rifles.  Might have lucked out but with just cleaning and minimal smoothing on carrier it works slicker than some short stroked Ubertis I have compared them too.  Interior machining appears crisper and cleaner. Lever throw is just under vertical. Full disclosure, I am nowhere near a sub 20 sec shooter, but throw the smoke and fire from BP. 

While humorous it really is fair to say buy both. Fundamentally only you can decide. I prefer the Miroku to any Uberti I’ve ever owned. That is not to say there is anything wrong with the Ubertis and that is not to say the Miroku is slicker or faster. I just prefer it.