SASS Wire Forum

'Quality' 1897 Shotguns

Widder, SASS #59054

A post on another Thread got me to thinking about how hard it might seem for some Pards to find a 'quality' 1897 shotgun to use in our game.

The 97 might be easy to find, but 'quality' seems to be the key word when some are seeking a GOOD shotgun.

At present, I think Wild West can supply some quality shotguns, and I've heard of a few others.

I think even some old Winchesters are quality, but when some amateur smiths try to tinker with them, that quality (or lack thereof) rears its ugly head right 

in the middle of a stage run.

And I know that my IAC brand shotguns are reasonable quality because I have been shooting some of them, and abusing them, for many years.

They may not be SASS race ready out of the box, but still, for the most part, they seem to be sturdy and reliable.   And the more recent CB models

are really nice.

BUT, I must say that my IAC 97's have been 'tuned' by a competent gunsmith, which raises the stardards for 'quality', because he (Curly Bill Kelly) tries

to focus on reliability and safety more so than trying to give me some Ultra Smooth, Slick feeling shotgun 'slicked' to the nth degree.

Sure, I brake something every now and then and Curly Bill has to repair or replace something.  But this is only with 1 or 2 highly abused shotguns over a period

of years.

I guess what I am trying to say is if you have a 97 shotgun that is not reasonable quality and doesn't serve you well and is not very reliable, you've either gotten

a bad lemon or your gunsmith isn't checking it out properly and getting it right.

A good 97 should work well for the slowest shooter as well as a fast shooter.

I think there are some good QUALITY (probably High Quality) shotguns still available.   But good things cost good money.

Although I don't own one of those nice looking shotguns available from Outlaw Gambler, I have handled a couple of them and they are nice.....very nice.