SASS Wire Forum

Question: wearing advertisements

Widder, SASS #59054

I know its against SASS rules to wear clothing that advertises for businesses/sponsors, etc...

BUT, how about 'medical' items such as wrist bands to support a wrist?

If someone with a previous broken wrist needs to wear a wrist ban that has "PTEX" on it for some added wrist support, would this be considered

against the rules?

How about a NIKE wrist ban (sweat ban) that might help give some support?   With the NIKE, I think it can be turned  inside out to hide the logo.

Are these items forbidden when the company name or logo is showing?

thanks,

..........Widder

I don't think it's the right call for a brace.  It would just be wrong to call a penalty on someone wearing an elbow brace for tendonitis with "Mueller" printed on it. 

I also don't see the logo on a sweatband as an issue.  Remember, "don't be a hardass".

Trying to use common sense and logic (Two things I'm not very good at using) I'd say it's a no call.  If we started calling manufacture's labels on things like that we'd have to call them on everything.  No logos on your pants, no logos on your boots, no logos on your GUNS. :o

Use the Justice Potter Stewart approach to determine whether or not it’s advertising:  it may be hard to define but I know it when I see it!

From page 4 of the shooters handbook.

"The displaying of any manufacturer’s, sponsor’s, or team logos on apparel.

(Manufacturer’s labels on such apparel or equipment are acceptable)"

Seems clear enough to me.

19 minutes ago, Warden Callaway said:

What about the SASS badges?   TO pins?  Award belt buckles?  And so on and so forth? 

REF: SHB p.43 "Logo" definition.

Logo:

distinctive graphic design, stylized name, unique symbol, or other device for identifying an organization

This includes those of SASS, individual clubs/ranges, match commemorative and those of any subgroups within the

Cowboy Action Shooting community