SASS Wire Forum

Favorite Long Range Rifles?

Abilene Slim SASS 81783

I don't own a big bore cartridge rifle but am toying with the idea of long range shooting in the future. Just starting to do some research.

Lots of choices and calibers available such as High Wall, Sharps, Rolling Block, Trapdoor, etc. And then there are lever rifles like the Marlin 1885 Cowboy.

What are your favorite guns, length of barrel and calibers? Especially for a newbie?

I also have "middle age eyes" where I need lenses to see things close up like sights . What kind of peep sights are recommended? Are scopes like the 18" Malcom worth the investment?

I reload both BP and smokeless, so that's not an issue, but I'm inclined toward readily available components.

I am also a newbie in long range, but I do love shooting them. My favorite also happens to be one of the most expensive. A Shiloh Sharps, 30" barrel, 45-70. Seems to be a best all around build there from what I can tell. I also have MVA sights and I can say with whatever limited authority I have in my extremely low level of experience, don't underestimate the importance of top quality sights.

Are you going to shoot competitions with it, or is it just for you to have fun on the back 40?  Because I think most competitions for these guns won't allow scopes.  If you get a hadley eyecup on the back sight it should help you find the right sized hole to peep through.  I don't think you'll actually be looking at the back sights, so those middle aged eyes might not cause a problem.  Your focus will be on the front sights or the target. 

High walls seem to be the most common, but I think that's because of availability and price.  Any of them can be good rifles.