SASS Wire Forum

Is this a good deal for a beginner reloader?

Jaan

How-do everyone!  Forgive me, I know there's already a lot of information out there for reloading but that's a big part of the problem, there's too much information.  As a beginner my head is swimming from days of reading articles, I don't think I'll learn much more without getting my hands dirty.

What I want to do is get started reloading .44-40 because it's hard to find locally and a lot of companies won't ship here.  Right now RCBS has a $100 mail in rebate deal if I order before March 31.  With shipping this reloading kit will come out to $256;

Midway USA RCBS Reloader Special 5  Explorer kit

I'm worried that it might be TOO much for a beginner.  I'm mechanically inclined, I'm capable of working a milling machine and lathe and I've rebuilt car engines etc. but I hate that first step.

I know I'll need dies too, what else is nice to have...brass tumbler?

A lot of people have started out with a single stage press like that. It is a very good way to learn as it forces you to learn and understand each step involved. Also, like many of us who havemoved up to automated setups, you will find yourself hanging on to that pld press because there are some things are just easier on one. Good luck!

That is a pretty nice and complete set up to get you started. The press will last longer than you. Listen to Abilene Slim and get those books. Worth their weight in gold for our game. I loaded on a single stage press for more than 40 years till I got into Cowboy and started feeding two shooters. Went progressive on metallic and shotshell.

Jaan,

Go up a level and get this one:

https://www.midwayusa.com/product/937051/rcbs-rock-chucker-supreme-master-single-stage-press-kit

It has the rebate too but you might want to call about the rebate and see if you get the $100 for the discounted sets.