SASS Wire Forum

Cylinder Issues With New Vaqueros

Clint Steele

Hello, all,

I'm fairly new to SASS.  Bought a pair of Ruger New (SASS) Vaqueros online (used, but they didn't look like they had been fired).  I noticed one revolver didn't spin as freely as the other, but now, after 3 months of matches, it seems to be getting worse.  I've done deep cleaning an oiling, and after swapping parts, it appears it's the cylinder and not a problem in the frame.  Anyone else have this issue?  How is Ruger for customer service?  I obviously don't want to be without a revolver for too long, as I'm shooting two matches a month now.  

Check if the bolt is dragging on slower one.. If so, it might be a weak loading gate spring.

Ruger has excellent customer service. However any aftermarket parts will be removed and the firearm returned to factory configuration. You usually but not always receive them back.

I suggest that you have a local to you CAS gunsmith check it out first.  Likely an easy fix and you will not have to wait weeks for your pistol to make the round trip.  Ask the pards you shoot with.; they'll likely know of someone local that can at least take a knowledgeable look at it.

When I purchased my last pair of new Vaqueros, one had a bad cylinder and some other problems.  I sent it back.  The revolver came back and it was as if I had sent it to a top smith for an action job.  It had a new cylinder and was incredibly smooth.   

Mine don't feel exactly the same......one is a tad more free than the other. IMHO they are probably are all going to feel a little different since they are not hand fitted and mass produced. Don't get me wrong it's not a big difference and neither feels like it's dragging or anything.....just ones spins easier.  You would never tell in a match but if you do a side by side comparison you can tell.

I've been shooting mine that way for 8 years and they are still going strong. 

9 hours ago, Clint Steele said:

Hello, all,