SASS Wire Forum

Question for California

Smoken D

I know, I know, news media rarely get it right but I have a question. On this morning news covering the fires, a reporter stated that 265 schools were closed that served 100,000 students. I got to thinking about that since I deal in numbers, and with these numbers that comes out to 377 students per school. I sure hope that is not right. Even my H.S. back in the 60's would have 1,800 seniors graduating. That just does not sound like very many students per school. Even an average seems kinda low. My question is this info correct?

Wow, you had over 7000 people in your High School?

Also, Santa Rosa and the surrounding area is a bit rural in nature, so the schools are smaller than in the Bay Area where I live.

57 minutes ago, Smoken D said:

Even my H.S. back in the 60's would have 1,800 seniors graduating.

Where in the heck did you go to school?

I just went and looked. My alma mater (which was a 3-year school when I graduated, but is now 4-year) has a TOTAL enrollment of 1350. Our "cross-town rival" has a total enrollment of 1188.

And your school graduated 1800, fifty years ago??

My high school had 3,000+ in grades 10, 11, and 12.  Graduated about 1,000+ each class. I graduated 50 years ago in 1967.  My first post had incorrect number due to senior moment.  It felt like there were 6,000 instead of 3,000+.

Most elementary schools in Alief ISD (Houston, TX) have 800+ students.  HISD and surrounding districts have 500 or fewer.  One year the elementary I was teaching at had 5 or 6 temporary buildings with two classrooms each for a total of over 1,000 students.  It was awful.  Lunch started at 10:15 and ran until 1:30.

53 minutes ago, Springfield Slim SASS #24733 said:

Wow, you had over 7000 people in your High School?

35 minutes ago, Alpo said:

Where in the heck did you go to school?