SASS Wire Forum

MEC 600 Jr., Mark V

Dabster Dave

I am brand new to reloading and have a MEC Jr shotshell reloaded.  At the last match my wife was talking about her shoulder starting to bruise from the shotgun recoil, when someone offered her to try their "light load" 12 gauge shells.  She really liked the difference in recoil, so I thought I would give it a try.  I have a Lyman reloading manual, but it doesn't say anything about cowboy loads, and I have a #29 powder bushing in the MEC.  I'm looking for insight into what bushing to use in the MEC and if there is a good Cowboy reloading manual I could purchase.  

Thanks,

Dabster Dave

Here is some good info about bushings and powder weights.

https://www.mecshootingsports.com/content/images/document/PowderBushingChart.pdf

I like Clays or Clay Dot.  Reddot is another good choice.  You need a couple sizes smaller than the 29 to meet your wife's desire.

It is always best to weigh the chage to be sure as powders do vary a little from batch to batch.

I like the lightest 7/8 oz load Alliant publishes for Extra-Lite.  You can get the charge weight and bushing size online.  However, this load has more recoil than Winchester AA low noise, low recoil shotgun shells.  Unfortunately the powder for these shells is no longer sold to hand loaders.  However you can buy these shells and get a $2 a box rebate.  My wife will only shoot low noise, low recoil shells when shooting smokeless loads.  Yesterday a local CAS club held a new shooters clinic for ladies.  Twenty ladies attended.  I supplied a case of low noise, low recoil shotgun shells for the clinic.  Not one lady complained about the recoil of the shotgun.  I recommend these for your wife.

Smokeless powder shotshell recipes must be followed exactly to avoid dangerous pressures.  Black powder is more forgiving.  If you ever want to play with black powder shotshells send me a PM and we can talk.  They can be loaded down to very light levels.