SASS Wire Forum

Rossi 92 vs Marlin 1894

lone_ranger674

Hello Everyone!

I am new to the sport and I am looking to get a lever action in .45LC.  I wanted to take a poll and get everyone's opinions on which is better the Rossi 92 or the Marlin 1894?  I know either way I go it will need some polishing.

• Replies 76
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Whichever way you go, be cautious about buying the new Remington made Marlin because some of your best Marlin gurus are reluctant to work on the Remlins.

..........Widder

Marlin '94 is easier to maintain and has far fewer parts to deal with.

I say this as someone who has used Marlin 94's for well over 35+ years.

The Remmy made Marlins are JUNK-Run away. You want a Marlin with the JM barrel stamp. NOT the REP stamp

OLG 

Unfortunately, the copies of the Winchester 66 and 73 are the best, readily available rifles for this game.  The original Marlins were very good and excellent once worked on, but they are hard to find and now $$$.  The 92 is a good gun but very hard for most of us to run any where near as well a 66 or 73 - both for speed at least.

I'm happy with my Marlins and find them easy to work on myowndangself.

I have 2 Marlins and 2 Rossi's. Take down is easy for me on both. But overall, I'm faster with the Marlins. The Rossi's are good dependable long guns and when slicked up are great shooters. But I would go toward a Marlin, or consider a 73. Unless your shooting "B" Western, I would go for the 73. MT

I started with a Rossi 92 but switched to a Marlin 1894 after six months because I like the action on the 1894 better and I can remove black powder fouling quite easily.  Talk to a local club and see if someone will let you shoot each model.  Shoot an 1873 too.  You will have a preference.  BTW unless you plan to shoot Classic Cowboy I recommend shooting 38 Specials.  You will spend less money on ammo and probably shoot a bit faster.

1 hour ago, Marauder SASS #13056 said: