SASS Wire Forum

1866 vs 1873

Two gun Ted

I'm new to CAS, going to my first match in a week.  Right now I have a win 76 in 45-60 and u what to get a pistol caliber rifle for the matches.  So I'm looking for input.  My choice is 1866 or 1873 Win, I'd prefer 44-40 since my pistols are and I want to shoot black powder. I'm also considering 38-40. What's your opinions in the direction to take.   Thanks 

Since your pistols are .44-40 ,I'd get the rifle in that caliber.  Nothing against .38-40, but it's less effort to reload in one caliber instead of two.  And you without a doubt roll your own in this game.  Especially if you wanna shoot black powder.

As to 66 vs 73, other than visually, the guns are virtually identical when it comes to functionality and the internal action.   So's the Henry except for how you load it for that matter.

About the only "difference" between a 66 and 73 is that with a 73, you can go with a reproduction, or a real one made back in the day.  With the 66 you pretty much have to go with a reproduction.

Good luck!  

If you are going for historically accurate then the closest current production reproduction you can get today is an 1873 44-40. Either "Winchester" or Uberti made. 

As you are most likely aware, 38 Special and 45 Colt were not offerings in the original Winchester rifles. They are today and sell quite well however un-historically accurate they might be. But they are a lot of fun to shoot in this game.

The 1866 reproduction is a great choice however it was never offered in 44-40. Its original caliber was 44 Henry Rimfire or something to that effect and that ammo has not been made for a long long time. The 1873 however was originally offered in 44-40, so there you go.

Oh, and welcome! 

The 1866 is marginally harder to get into the action for a thorough cleaning, and also appears to have a marginally larger stock drop.