SASS Wire Forum

Bullet diameter for .45 Colt

Frank Moon

Hi! I'm totally new to SASS, a recently acquired 74 Sharps and have found it turning my interests from the Longhunters, so I'm very familiar with BP shooting. I also shoot allot of modern and make it a point to reload everything I shoot. Everything except high power rifles, I cast my own bullets for. I just purchased a Uberti Cimarron Frontier in .45 Colt, the question I have is; are the bullets .452 in the replicas, or are they .454? I currently cast 200gr RNFP .452 for my 1911, or will I need to find a mold and sizer for .454?

Frank

Check out Ringers Bullets, if you decide not to cast your own. He uses SPG lube, so good for smokeless or BP. He is a great guy to deal with.

That .452 diameter bullet in 200 grain RNFP will be a very nice slug to load for cowboy shooting, too.

Good luck, GJ

I shoot original Colt's. 1st & 2nd Generation Most all Colts have over size bores so I shoot .454 diameter size lead bullet. .454 size bullet works in other makes of Single Action pistols. I also shot a .45 cal Rifle in Wild Bunch and I have converted them to shoot the .45 ACP pistol case. They will group 1 1/2 inches at 50yds. I use a .454 sized bullet in all the rifles we shoot in WB & CAS that size bullet works the best. Reason being it eliminates nearly all the blow back and improves accuracy & performance

Goatneck.

Howdy

OK, here is the long story. When the 45 Colt was first invented in 1873 the groove diameter was between .454 and .455. The Single Action Army continued to be produced with .454 grooves up until the end of 1st Gen production in 1940. When Colt began making the SAA again in 1956 groove diameter for 45 Colt was reduced to .451 -.452 and has stayed that dimension ever since. Incidentally, .451 has always been the groove diameter for 45 ACP.