SASS Wire Forum

Reloading for a Glock .45acp

Johnny Dollar

I've never owned one but I remember reading that they are quirky to reload for. Something about lead bullets? I may be totally off....

The reason is my daughters boyfriend (could be more soon? But getting away from the point) has one in .45acp. We've been shooting together some and he asked if I could load him some. I've loaded for all my 1911's for years but only lead.

I'd love to do it for him but was wondering about any issues to look out for.

Long winded question ...:)

Well, I have just started reloading for my Springfield 1911 A1. I have no knowledge about Glocks

but I would guess that the reloading part is pretty much the same.

What I have gleaned so far is:

1. The cartridge head spaces off the front of the cartridge rim.

so brass length is an issue. I believe the max is .898" overall

2. C.O.A.L. predicated on bullet profile is critical for proper loading and ejection.

3. There are lots of bullet profiles and weights out there.

Choose with caution and information.

My first attempt was to load an empty cartridge without powder or primer and the bullet

of choice. Then load it in the chamber and eject the cartridge, If all works well, you have

a starting point. Then marry that loading information with the powder charge and manual

dictates.

About all I can tell you.

The factory wasn't happy with me for shooting lead bullets in a Glock .40 S&W. Said I should use only jacketed ammo. FWIW

Hey Badger! Thanks! I've been loading for 1911's since around 1979 or so but never for a Glock. I think what I was reading was more the use of lead bullets in a Glock barrel. Something about the twist maybe?

However your advice is sound for sure!!

glocks have polygonal rifling in their stock barrels.

Cruise through the below for more info of why one shouldn't use lead bullets in stock glock barrel.