SASS Wire Forum

1873 uberti lever play

Doc Coles SASS 1188

I bought a used 1873 Uberti a while back and have been tuning it up to replace the one I have been shooting for cas since the late 1980s. The new gun is very nice and of recent production but I noticed that there is considerable side to side play in the lever when it is fully extended (when the action is open). Much more than is present on any of the five other Uberti rifles I have.

An inspection of the parts shows no visible wear, it just appears that the hole in the lever is oversized, allowing the lever to wobble from side to side.

I see several options. I could just live with it, but it does not seem like a good idea as the play has to have some effect on the gun's operation and may lead to strange or early wear.

I could order a new factory lever but I don't want to order a new one at $95 from VTI if it's going to come with the same problem.

I could drill it out slightly, insert a bronze bushing and fit it perfectly to the lever bolt and the window in the frame, which would take out all excess movement. Probably a good solution but time consuming since I would have to borrow a lathe.

I could order one of the shortstroke kits that comes with a replacement lever (at more than $300, which seems a bit excessive).

Has anyone had this problem and if you did, how did you handle it?

I have a uberti 73 in 45 that I've shot for nearly ten years, and it was used when I bought. Has about 1mm of side to side play as well. The play has always been there and has never gotten worse. Just got used to it

Oh God!! Something else to worry about!