SASS Wire Forum

Warped Buffalo Horn grip panel?

Have one nicely figured Buffalo horn grip panel that is warped, not what I would call severe but does not fit as it should. I realize that it is a natural material. Does anyone have any experience with straightening a a warped buffalo horn grip panel? I have a couple ideas but want to see if anyone has experience.

Not specifically with revolver grips, but cow horns and horse hooves get real soft when exposed to steam. It's the same material as your fingernails, just a lot thicker.

If all else fails, put the grip panel in a steam basket or pressure cooker until it becomes flexible, then install it on the gun and wrap it tightly with something--- strips of cloth or masking tape--- to hold it in the proper shape until it cools and dries out. Maybe a day or so.

When I was a veterinary student, I made ashtrays out of horse hooves and powder horns from cow horns this way as Christmas presents. (The horse cadavers had been donated to the school for study, and I was allowed to save the hooves before final disposal.). I think buffalo horn should behave the same. But I recommend it only if more conservative methods don't work out. High temperatures can do strange things to organic materials sometimes.

Hope you can salvage the grips! I'm a sucker for stag, bone, and horn on revolvers.

Deuce report on your results. I have a couple of pairs of Eagle Buffalo horn grips that are slightly warped. Not a lot but if I could get them flatter that would be nice.