SASS Wire Forum

New to CAS / Henry Big Boy Questions

Brian5271

Hello All,

This is my first post here although I have been searching through the forums for a week or two trying to find the answers I am seeking.

I am getting ready to buy a new lever action rifle that I can eventually use in Western 3 Gun and other CAS events. The rifle that I have been eye balling a lot is the Henry Big Boy in 357/38. I really like the look of this gun and it being made in the USA is a huge deal for me. I am not at all concerned about it not being an authentic cowboy design.

I have read many of the reviews here and elsewhere and it seems that the HBB is not well thought of for CAS. From what I have read, many here think they are good rifles, just not suited to this sport because they are “slow”.

Before asking my questions, let me tell you a bit about my goals and experience. Although I am new to the CAS world and lever guns in general, I am not new to shooting or competitions. When shooting competitions I generally finish middle of the pack, although I have won my division a couple of times in action pistol. I am a not very fast (in fact I am kinda slow) but usually fairly accurate. I do competitions because they are fun and I don’t try to compete against the gamers who are really into speed.

So with that in mind, I have a few questions I am hoping you all can help me out with. When you talk about the HBB being slow, what exactly are you talking about? I understand that a heavier gun will be slow to swing and will tend to over swing the target. That doesn’t concern me too much too much as I am not super worried about the clock; what does concern me is jamming while trying to run it fast. Is this a real issue? I don’t mind being slow because I am a slow poke, but I do mind being slow because my equipment is malfunctioning. I want my equipment to be faster than me.