SASS Wire Forum

3/4 oz shotshell loads

Swift Stoney 49735

Just curious if anyone else is loading 3/4 oz 12 ga shotgun shells? Kid Nama and I have been shooting them for a couple of years with good results. With the cost of shotshell reloading components there is not much of a cost savings reloading your own but we enjoy the light recoil and the corresponding speed at which we are able to reload our 97s.

Yes, Missus Tyrel hasn't shot a match just yet but I have been loading some 3/4oz shells for her with 700X powder. She likes the lighter recoil too.

Was loading 3/4oz BP shells for my son but he likes my 7/8 BP loads better and we now shoot the same.

I have had very good luck with 12 ga 3/4 to 7/8 oz loads in both smokeless and APP. Why put in more powder and lead than needed to get the job done?

I have seen a shooter or two though that has taken light loads to the extreme. Last time they were VERY unhappy that a couple of the shotgun KDs would not go down even though they were solidly hit. Those of us shooting more realistic (3/4 oz and at least 1000 fps ) loads were not having any trouble though.

I load them frequently and use them for practice to save money on shot. My daughters like them for the lower recoil. I use a 20 gauge over powder wad in the shot cup of a 7/8 oz wad so it crimps correctly.

My BP practice load is 3/4 oz reclaimed lead with = amount of grain weight of 2F KIK, fill the void above the lead with cat litter. Good crimp in Win AA Grays.

Plenty of power for KDs.

Just sayin,

AR

Kitty litter. Now there's a thought. Might wear out the barrel after a time, but...... Hey....I might try that on squirrels.

Kitty litter. Now there's a thought. Might wear out the barrel after a time, but...... Hey....I might try that on squirrels.

Rock salt. Did you never have any fun as a kid...??? Why, if you ain't been shot in the butt with rock salt... you musta been sittin' at home studyin' all the time!