SASS Wire Forum

"Old school" CAS/SASS shooting

Lost Trail

I'm relatively new to CAS/SASS so please take this all in the spirit it is intended: happily seeking thoughts.

Yesterday I went and shot with a 'local' group south of Colorado Springs near Hanover. They shoot 'old school' CAS/SASS which was a bit different than the 3 shoots I've attended in AZ.

My experience previous to yesterday has been large targets, very closer with the emphasis on speed.

Yesterday I arrived early and jumped right in to help setting up the targets and stages. Imagine my surprise when I started seeing the pistol and shotgun targets set at ranges beyond any rifle targets I had previously shot in AZ. Then we start setting the rifle targets and I begin to wonder if my .45 rounds have enough powder to push the 200gr RNFP's out that far or will I have to 'fire for effect'.

This is an entire group of people that apparently did not like the turn SASS took back in the 1994 era and have determined to keep the longer distances and not worry so much about the clock.

It was very interesting and I did well for the most part. Targets that are half the size or smaller than anything I'd seen yet and at distances of 2-4x what I was used to, combined with a 15-20mph cross wind caused more misses than I hoped. I did have two stages with 1 miss each, but then a 2 miss, 3 miss and 4 miss really hurt. Raw times were up in the top 3 shooters so all-in-all I can't complain.

I think it was agood learning experience and my belief is that I want to be able to shoot any variation of CAS since I think it makes me a better all-around competitor and challenges me to better myself. I know I'll never be competing with the likes of Damascus John or Champ, but I do believe that I will continue to improve and this 'long range' CAS shooting can only help.

Besides this was only my 4th shoot so I'm just in it for the fun and experience right now.